

Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held Civic Hall, Leeds on Thursday, 19th May, 2016

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Judith Chapman in the Chair.

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter
Caroline Anderson Amanda Carter
Billy Flynn Rod Wood

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Neil Alan Buckley Eileen Taylor
Dan Cohen Mohammed Rafique
Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Karen Renshaw Elizabeth Nash Jack Dunn Patrick Davey Lisa Mulherin Mohammed Igbal

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Janette Waler
James McKenna Pauleen Grahame
Alice Smart Peter John Gruen

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Angela Gabriel David Blackburn
Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve Terry Wilford

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Caroline Gruen Sarah Field
Julie Heselwood Mark Dobson
Kevin Ritchie Stuart McKenna

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Denise Ragan Salma Arif Asghar Khan Arif Hussain Ron Grahame

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Graham Latty
Paul John Spencer Wadsworth
Pat Latty

HAREWOOD

Ryan Stephenson Rachael Procter Matthew Robinson

HEADINGLEY

Alison Garthwaite Neil Walshaw Jonathon Pryor

HORSFORTH

Christopher Townsley Dawn Collins Brian Cleasby

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Christine Denise Towler Gerry Harper Javaid Akhtar

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Graham Hyde Catherine Dobson Brian Michael Selby

KIPPAX & METHLEY

Mary Elizabeth Harland James Lewis

KIRKSTALL

Lucinda Joy Yeadon John Anthony Illingworth Fiona Venner

MIDDLETON PARK

Paul Anthony Truswell Judith Blake Kim Groves

MOORTOWN

Alex Sobel Rebecca Charlwood Sharon Hamilton

MORLEY NORTH

Robert Finnigan Robert Gettings Thomas Leadley

MORLEY SOUTH

Judith Elliott Neil Dawson Shirley Varley

OTLEY & YEADON

Sandy Edward Charles Lay Colin Campbell Ryk Downes

PUDSEY

Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis Mick Coulson ROTHWELL

David Nagle Karen Bruce Barry Stewart Golton **ROUNDHAY**

Eleanor Tunnicliffe Christine Macniven Ghulam Hussain

TEMPLE NEWSAM

Debra Coupar Helen Hayden Michael Lyons

WEETWOOD

Jonathan Bentley Susan Bentley Judith Mara Chapman

WETHERBY

Gerald Wilkinson Alan James Lamb John Michael Procter

1 Opening Remarks

- a) The Lord Mayor reminded all those present that the Annual Meeting was to be webcast
- b) The Lord Mayor welcomed the newly elected Members to their first meeting of Council.
- c) The Lord Mayor reported the recent death of Denise Atkinson MBE a former Lord Mayor of Leeds and Council stood in silent tribute.

2 Issue of Papers for the Meeting

The Lord Mayor indicated that, following the dispatch of the Summons with accompanying reports on Wednesday 11th May 2016, further papers originally identified on the Summons as to follow were circulated to Members on Wednesday 18th May 2016.

3 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Blake, seconded by Councillor J Procter, supported by Councillors Golton, Gettings and A Blackburn and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Gerry Harper be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold Office until the election of his successor.

The meeting was suspended to allow for Councillor Harper to accept the Chain of Office and to take the Chair.

4 Election of Vice Chair of Council

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor C Dobson and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Jim McKenna be appointed Vice Chairman of Council to hold Office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2017.

5 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Blake moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Judith Chapman. This was seconded by Councillor Lamb and supported by Councillors Golton, Elliott and Wilford, and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That a vote of thanks be moved for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Judith Chapman.

6 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie, seconded by Councillor G Latty and

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the meeting held on 23rd March 2016 be approved subject to a correction at minute 124, correcting a typographical error on the recorded vote numbers on page 14/15 of the Council Papers to read Yes 54, No 16 Abstentions 4.

7 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

8 Announcements

There were no announcements.

9 Recommendations of the General Purposes Committee - Amendments to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Blake seconded by Councillor Ogilvie and

RESOLVED – That the recommendations of the General Purposes Committee with regard to amendments to the Constitution, as detailed in the report of the City Solicitor, be approved.

10 Establishment of Committees and Appointments

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor C Dobson and

RESOLVED –That Schedules 8(a)to(c) and Schedules 8(e)and(f) be approved and that the City Solicitor be authorised, in consultation with appropriate Whips, to change appointments made during the period between this meeting and the next ordinary meeting of Council.

11 Appointment of Community Committee Chairs

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie, seconded by Councillor C Dobson that

(a) in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chairs of the following Community Committees be noted

Inner North West Community Committee – Councillor Akhtar Outer North West Community Committee – Councillor Wadsworth Outer West Community Committee – Councillor Coulson

(b) in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chairs of the following Community Committees be determined by Full Council as a meeting of those Community Committees had not taken place.

Inner North East Community Committee – Councillor E Taylor
Outer North East Community Committee – Councillor Wilkinson
Inner East Community Committee – Councillor A Khan
Outer East Community Committee – Councillor Harland
Inner South Community Committee – Councillor Gabriel
Inner West Community Committee – Councillor Ritchie

RESOLVED -

- (a) That the Chairs of the 3 Community Committees as set out above be noted.
- (b) That the Chairs of the 6 Community Committees as set out above be approved.

12 Appointment of Community Committee Chair - Outer South Community Committee

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie, seconded by Councillor C Dobson, that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules the appointment of the Chair of the Outer South Community Committee be determined by the overall majority of votes cast by those Members of the Outer South Community Committee present at the Council meeting.

The 2 nominees were Councillor K Bruce and Councillor R Finnigan.

As an overall majority of votes could not be obtained by votes cast by those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting, the vote was widened to include all Members of Council.

RESOLVED – That Councillor K Bruce be appointed Chair of the Outer South Community Committee.

13 Scheme of Delegation (Council(Non-Executive) Functions)

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor C Dobson and

RESOLVED – That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 9 be approved.

14 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor C Dobson and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of Executive Functions, as detailed in Schedule 10, be noted.

15 Council Meeting Dates 2016/2017

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor C Dobson and

RESOLVED – That the dates of the meetings of the Council for the Municipal Year 2016/17, as detailed in Schedule 11 be approved.

Council rose at 7.25 pm